Phone: 410-284-5081
New Maryland Traffic Ticket Procedures
Posted On: Jan 18, 2011

   No matter in what state you hold your driver's license, if you are issued a "payable" traffic ticket in the State of Maryland, you will no longer be given an automatic trial date to appear in court. (You have a payable traffic violation when the officer checks "This is a payable citation" on your traffic ticket.) Effective January 1, 2011 a new process is in place, which means you must respond within 30 days or risk having your driver's license suspended.
   Within 30 days of receipt of a ticket, you must take
 one of the following three actions –

1. Pay the ticket:
     In person at your local District Court
     Mail to
       District Court Traffic Processing Center
       P.O. Box 6676 Annapolis, MD
     Pay online here 
     Pay by phone with a credit card by calling 1-800-492-2656 

2. Ask for a waiver hearing at the District Court instead of a trial to plead guilty with explanation -
     Mark the "Request a Waiver Hearing" box on the ticket
     Sign and date the ticket
     Mail to the District Court Traffic Processing Center (address listed above)

3. Ask for a trial date at the District Court to dispute the ticket -  
     Mark the "Request a Trial" box on the ticket
     Sign and date the ticket
     Mail to the District Court Traffic Processing Center (address listed above)

    In 2010, Maryland lawmakers passed a new law that says citizens who get ticketed for committing a violation such as speeding, failure to obey traffic signs or signals, or failure to stop for a school bus, must ask for a trial if they wish to dispute the ticket. Moving violation offenses that do not require incarceration (jail time) - such as driving while under the influence on a suspended license – are considered payable – i.e. the payment of a fine. If a driver does not respond within 30 days after receiving a traffic ticket, the District Court will notify the Motor Vehicle Administration to begin the driver's license suspension process.

The Maryland Point System
   The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration maintains a point system for all moving violations. Some offenses are characterized as "moving violations" while others are not. Moving violations carry one point or more under Maryland's 12-point scale: an unsafe lane change carries one point while driving while a license is revoked carries 12 points. You can further review those designated "moving violations" at Code of Maryland Regulations, Section
   Accumulating points on your driving record will effect both the status of your license, and your automobile insurance rates.
   Below are the assessment of points:

   1 Point

1. Any "moving violation" not listed below and not contributing to an accident

   2 Points

2. Following another vehicle too closely
3. Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 10 mph or more
4. Driving with an improper class of license
5. Failing to stop for a school vehicle with activated alternately flashing red lights
6. Any violation of S. 21-111 of the TR article (putting glass/refuse on highway/bridge/waters)
7. Passing an emergency or police vehicle under the provisions of S. 21-405(d) of the TR
8. A violation of S. 21-511(a) of TR article (failure to yield for a blind or deaf pedestrian)
9. Failure to stop a vehicle for a steady red traffic signal in violation of S. 21-202 of this article or a nonfunctioning traffic control signal violation of S. 21-209 of this article
10. Operating a limousine in violation ofS. 21-1127(a) of this article 3 Points
11. Any moving violation contributing to an accident
12. Any violation of S. 16-303 (h) or (i) of this article (suspended license)
13. Any violation, except violations committed on the John F. Kennedy Memorial Highway (I-95), of S. 21-1411 of this article (certain HazMat violations)

   5 Points

14. Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 30 mph or more
15. Driving while not licensed
16. Failure to report and accident
17. Driving on a learner's permit unaccompanied
18. Any violation of S 17-107 (driving an uninsured vehicle)
19. Participating in a race or speed contest in a highway
20. Any violation of S 16-304 or S 16-305 of this article (causing or permitting an unauthorized minor to drive)

21. Any violation of S. 22-404.5 of this article (selling or offering for sale unsafe tires)
22. Speeding in excess of a posted speed limit of 65 mph by 20 mph or more
23. Aggressive driving in violation of S. 21-901.2 of this article

   6 Points

24. Reckless driving 8 Points
25. Driving while impaired by alcohol or while impaired by a drug, combination of drugs or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol, or driving within 12 hours after arrest under S. 21-902.1 (DUI) of this article
26. Turning off lights if a vehicle to avoid identification
27. Failing to stop after an accident resulting in damage to an attended vehicle or property
28. Failing to stop after an accident resulting in damage to an unattended vehicle or property
29. Any violation of S.16-815 or S.16-816 of this article (operating a commercial or school vehicle without proper class license
30. Failing to stop after an accident resulting in bodily injury or death
31. Any violation of S.16-303 of this title (driving while license is refused, cancelled, suspended or revoked), excluding S. 16-303(h) or (i)

   12 Points

32. Any violation of S.16-301 (unlawful application for use of license), S. 16-302 (duplication or reproduction of identification card or drivers license), 16-804 (possessing more than one license while a commercial driver), or S.16-808 (a) (1 through 9) or (b) of this title (driving commercial vehicle while commercial license is refused, cancelled, suspended or revoked)
33. Homicide, life threatening injury under S.3-211 of the Criminal Law Article, or assault committed by means of a vehicle
34. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, while under the influence of article per se, or while impaired by an illegally used controlled substance
35. Any felony involving the use of a vehicle
36. Fleeing or attempting to elude an officer
37. The making of a false affidavit or statement under oath, or falsely certifying to the truth of any fact or information to the Administration under the Maryland Vehicle Law or under any law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles
38. Any violation involving an unlawful taking or unauthorized use of a motor vehicle under S.7-105 or S.7-203 of the Criminal Law Article, or S. 14-102 of this article

  • Teamsters Local 570

    Copyright © 2021. All Rights Reserved.

    Powered By UnionActive

  • Top of Page image